Revit Standards

With the emergence of BIM (Building Information Modeling), the need arose for independent software standards for securing the model information. Thanks to the "open standards" - accessible to everyone - the BIM-process can be structured and streamlined. The Revit Standards are open standards for Revit-users. The Revit Standards Foundation manages these standards.

Various BIM platforms can communicate with each other thanks to open standards. The Revit Standards are open standards for Revit-users. These standards ensure a better exchange of information between the parties involved in a construction project. The Revit Standards consist of a specific application for the Dutch market: the NLRS, one for the Belgian market: the BERS, and an international version: the RS.

How do our standards work?
The Revit Standards include a set of standard agreements to safeguard the information within a Revit model. These agreements create order in the information structure and the exchange of information between parties. They contain the following topics:



1. Naming conventions
The Revit Standards define a standard basis for naming Revit-components and -materials. Using our standards, users can identify, share, and retrieve all components easily and unambiguously.

2. Object styles
We specified Object Styles in the Revit Standards for an effective and unambiguous graphic representation. Also, several category-independent Object Styles are defined, to be used for non-geometric forms of space, such as placement space.

3. Parameters
The Revit Standards provide a set of standard shared parameters for use in Revit.

4. Mapping
With the Revit Standards mapping to other open BIM-standards is promoted and supported. The main focus is mapping with IFC as an exchange format for construction models. However, there is also a connection with other open standards, such as NL/SfB, CB-NL, and ETIM (MC). Working methods such as the Dutch BIM Basic ILS and the RVB BIM standard are also supported. 

5. Modeling rules
The Revit Standards also include agreements about structuring information in Revit Families of a certain Category:
- Insertion point
- Host
- Orientation
- Parameters 
These features are necessary to exchange Revit Families properly and to obtain and maintain a uniform data structure, with the least possible loss of information. The agreements are merged in Family Guides. 

6. Documentation & templates
The Revit Standards are fully documented. The Revit Standards can be implemented with a basic template. Revit-users can use this template as a guide when aligning their desk standard with the Revit Standards. This template is based on the NLRS.

As much BIM as possible 
The Dutch government has set itself the goal of designing and implementing as many construction projects as possible according to the BIM-process. For this purpose, the open standard IFC was included in the 'comply or explain' list of the Standardization Forum in 2011. With the NLRS, we ensure the correct implementation of IFC within the Netherlands. In 2018, the NLRS itself was placed on this list of standards recommended by the Dutch government. Early 2019 the Revit Standards became a partner standard of the BIM Loket.